h1

The Future of Twins Baseball

November 14, 2008

Hi again,

I grew up in Minneapolis, MN and attended my first Minnesota Twins game when I was only 2, I believe. Since then, I’ve been to the 1991 World Series- saw Jack Morris and Kirby Puckett in Game 6 and Game 7 help clinch the title for the Twins. It’s been 25 years of Twins baseball in the concrete bowl that is the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome. In 2010 the Twins will be opening a new ballpark named Target Field. It will be beautiful and finally outdoors! Real baseball, albeit cold baseball in April and October, but real nonetheless. Here are some pictures of the old and the new… Cannot wait!

Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome Exterior

Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome Exterior

Metrodome Interior

Metrodome Interior

New Target Field

New Target Field

The image of the new Target Field is an artist’s rendering of what it will look like. I cannot upload the flash pictures on the Twins website. But this is a general idea…

My parents are already on the waiting list for season tickets, I hope I can fly home for Opening Day 2010!

~Runteldat~

6 comments

  1. Hope? I would think you’d take off a day from work for this historical moment in the Twins era!


  2. You’re right, touche!


  3. Can I come too?


  4. Horst here,

    I just read your blog and I am glad somebody is writing about current/recent sports events.

    My first visit to Metrodome…

    I remember going to Metrodome for the first time watching the Vikings game when Anderson (Vikings kicker) nailed a 60 yard field goal to win the game against the Dolphins. That was brutal; the old fart still had life in his leg (I was cheering for the Dolphins).

    The Metrodome is nothing compared to other stadiums like Camden Yards but when I was watching the football game the atmosphere was amazing. The fans were screaming like crazy and you could feel the vibrations from the bouncing echoes. I am sure it’s like that at the Twins games. That’s one thing the fans going to miss when watching a game at Metrodome.

    Great Blog,

    Mike:)


  5. nice but i think my ny yankees stadium looks far better 😉 you suck man


  6. Mike- Yes, the atmosphere is crazy, I’ve been in there for a packed house for game 6 and 7 in the world series. People were wearing earplugs in there! Won’t be the same at the new ballfield.

    Roger- Your new yankee stadium will be extravagant and full of luxury items, but it will have lost the luster/mystery/aura of the original. No more magical Octobers for a while. 😉



Leave a Reply

